Happy Birthday America!

“Where liberty is, there is my country.” – Benjamin Franklin

Today, July 4th, is America’s birthday! In order to celebrate Independence Day, most people find a display of fireworks to watch. I was lucky enough to celebrate the 4th of July at Kaboom Town, in Addison, Texas.  According to the Kaboom Town website, it is “rated one of the top places to watch fireworks in the country by the American Pyrotechnics Association, USA Today, Travel + Leisure and The Wall Street Journal” and “the nationally-recognized fireworks show can be seen from anywhere in Addison, including the Addison Circle Park watching party, many of Addison’s 170 restaurants, 22 hotels and more.” Personally, I chose to experience the show from Duke’s Original Roadhouse in Addison. The restaurant was packed with people who were there for the Kaboom Town celebration and I had a blast!

Kaboom Town watching party at Duke's Original Roadhouse in Addison

Kaboom Town watching party at Duke’s Original Roadhouse in Addison

Air Show

Kaboom Town also featured an amazing air show that was put on by the Addison Airport. The show began with the Cavanaugh Historic Warbird Flyover and it also featured some aerobatic acts by Jan Collmer, Matt Younkin, Mike Galloway, and Dan Buchanan. Also, according to the Kaboom Town website, there was a new act this year. The show also displayed a military F-16 flyover by the Oklahoma National Guard from Tulsa, 125th Fighter Squadron, operating under the 138th fighter wing.

Air Show

Air Show

Celebrating

One of the best things about Kaboom Town was that I was able to have a good time and celebrate Independence Day at the same time! The environment was perfect for a celebration like this. Good people, good food, good music..not to mention good drinks! It was very entertaining, all around! It also happened to be one of my friend’s 21st birthdays so we were enjoying all of the festivities for more than one reason. The fact that there was so much going before the fireworks even started, made the wait totally worth it! Addison did a great job of keeping people happy while building up the anticipation.

Me and my friends celebrating Kaboom Town at Duke's

Me and my friends celebrating Kaboom Town at Duke’s

Fireworks, Finally

Now, we all know that everyone was waiting for the fireworks all night long! And let me tell you what…they did not disappoint! The fireworks display at Kaboom Town was absolutely amazing!! I had my doubts that we would be able to see them from Duke’s Original Roadhouse but the spot we were at was perfect. This is the first year that I have ever spent the 4th of July in Dallas and I am happy to say that I am pleased with the celebrations so far. Addison’s Kaboom Town firework display really lived up to my expectations. Here is the finale:


The Kaboom Town celebration ended on a wonderful note. I had such a good time celebrating Independence Day and I look forward to attending next year’s party! I hope everyone has a great 4th of July! I know I have so far 🙂

At Kaboom Town with my boyfriend, Charles

At Kaboom Town with my boyfriend, Charles

-Melissa Woodring

Leave a Reply

