New Year, New Me

“Make New Year’s goals. Dig within, and discover what you would like to have happen in your life this year. This helps you do your part. It is an affirmation that you’re interested in fully living life in the year to come.” – Melody Beattie

Each year, people all over the world make new year’s resolutions. Some people fail at achieving the change they wanted to make and some people succeed. Some people don’t need to use new year’s resolutions at all in order to make a change in their life…and good for them! I however, do like to make new year’s resolutions.

My Resolutions

Normally, I just tell myself each year what the one thing is that I want to change. Unfortunately though, I think I’ve been falling into the category of “people who fail at achieving the change they wanted to make.” I don’t really think I’ve taken my goals that seriously. I was in college, I was busy, and I just didn’t think it was that crucial. Nevertheless, this year I plan to make a change! To begin with, I made more than one resolution. Plus, I wrote them down. I thought maybe that writing them down, would make them seem more real. This year, I look at the new year in a different way. I’m an adult now…I have a full time job, I live with my boyfriend, and I have a puppy. I don’t want to just make one change. Instead, I want to improve my life altogether, and I think I can. Take a look at my list so far:

New Year's Resolutions

My New Year’s Resolutions

I am going to try my hardest to achieve these goals. Plus, I see the list growing at time goes on. Wish me luck!

Reality of Resolutions

According to the 2012 statistics from the Statistic Brain Research Institute, “About 45 percent of Americans make resolutions, but only 8 percent keep them.” I want to be one of the people who keeps them! An article called “The truth behind New Year’s resolutions,” by Angel McCurdy, reveals that the most popular goals are staying fit, losing weight, spending less and saving more, getting organized, and just enjoying life. I can certainly see how those are deemed as the most popular, can’t you? If you want to achieve your goals, keep them simple and be realistic. Most of all, you should stay positive and begin them immediately. You’re setting yourself up for failure if you begin the new year by putting things off. Changing your routine can be difficult, but if you stay motivated, it is possible! Here is some inspiration:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Good luck with the new year! 

Melissa Woodring 🙂

Leave a Reply

