Small Town Charm

“Wouldn’t trade one single day here in small town USA.” – Justin Moore

Growing up in a small town, I learned first-hand what all of the perks are! For example, my hometown of Sweeny, Texas, has the best hometownstaple food! Every time I go back home, there are 3 places I have to visit – Taco Loco, Dairy Mart, and Simple Simon’s. Now, while I definitely look forward to eating well when I’m home, there are many other great aspects about my small hometown of Sweeny!

In fact, each small town has it’s own charm! I missed mine so much when I was in college, that I skipped out on a spring break vacation so that I could go home for that week instead! Check out the pictures below for a bit of Sweeny scenery from 2010 🙂

Now, share your favorite small town adventure with us for the chance to win a prize!

Click here for details on how to enter.

Click here for details on how to enter.

Check out some other great small towns that you should visit this year!

  • Chautauqua, New York
  • Healdsburg, California
  • Williamsburg, Virginia
  • Steamboat Springs, Colorado
  • Woods Hole, Massachusetts
  • Marietta, Ohio
  • Beaufort, South Carolina
  • Sedona, Arizona
  • Nebraska City, Nebraska
  • Lanesboro, Minnesota
  • Spring Green, Wisconsin
  • Havre de Grace, Maryland
  • Columbia, Pennsylvania
  • Mount Dora, Florida
  • Ketchum, Idaho
  • Montpelier, Vermont
  • Harrodsburg, Kentucky
  • Silver City, New Mexico
  • Decorah, Iowa
  • The Dalles, Oregon

Learn why these towns are so great by reading “The 20 Best Small Towns to Visit in 2014.”

Photo credit: Smithsonian.com

Photo credit: Smithsonian.com

 

After you’ve chosen the ones you want to see for yourself, you can use Hertz NeverLost and the Hertz NeverLost Companion application for iPhone and Android to plan your trip and explore!

My coworker and I just used both products to visit McKinney, Texas, which was recently voted as #1 in MONEY’s “Best Places to Live in America.”

McKinney has a very charming and historic downtown and I was very pleased that I got the chance to see it!

McKinney

It was a beautiful day to explore! Click here to learn about things to do.

 

While I don’t live in a small town anymore, I love that I grew up in one and I’m always excited for a new small town adventure!

When you plan your next vacation, don’t overlook the small town charm!

Have a great weekend!

Melissa Woodring 🙂

2 comments on “Small Town Charm

  1. McCool Travel
    November 8, 2014 at 4:33 pm #

    Gotta love small town USA.

Leave a Reply

